Oriana

4 Passengers have reviewed this ship

  • Excellent

    3
  • Very good

    1
  • Average

    0
  • Poor

    0
  • Terrible

    0

Rating summary

  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    3
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4

4 reviews sorted by:

Contributor image placeholder

Michelle J

Contributor

Oriana

View deals
  • Overall

    4
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    3
  • Cabin

    3
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    3
Sep 2014

"Teenagers On A World Cruise "

As teenagers, in a 4 bed cabin with parents, we travelled from Fremantle, Australia to Southhampton, UK on the magestic Oriana in February 1999 (the dates on the review did not go back past 2009!). This ship was all class, very fancy with an older crowd who can afford such luxuries. We fit in much better with the crew who were our age and made our time really enjoyable. If you want sophistication and opulence then this is the cruise for you.

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Oriana
  • Destination: World / Sector
  • Sailed: February 2009
Contributor image placeholder

Anonymous

Contributor

  • 0 Helpful votes
  • 0 Cruise reviews
  • 0 Cruises

Oriana

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    3
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    5
Aug 2011

"A Cruise Aboard Oriana"

As a lighthouse keeper on Tiritiri in the 1960s I often watched the big passenger liners passing through the Whangaparaoa Passage between us and the mainland in the early morning on their way to Auckland. As an ex-seaman I had an interest in every ship that passed. But the big passenger ships were of special interest since I had never sailed in one. P&O’s Oriana for some reason always sparked a particularly special interest to the extent that I vowed that one day my wife and I would sail aboard her. Forty-odd years later, in October last year, we did just that – but it was aboard the new Oriana; the old one had gone to the breakers some years before. An advertisement for a flight from Auckland to San Francisco, several days in a hotel there and then Oriana all the way back to Auckland via Hawaii and Samoa, all for an inclusive price of a little over $3000 each, was impossible to resist! We enjoyed our whole time immensely. For my wife it was a unique experience, for me it was akin to going back to sea again but in circumstances undreamt of in my days as a seaman. Oriana was a truly beautiful ship. As with her predecessor, everything about her, including the flowing yet retrained lines of her design, bespoke the sense of unobtrusive professionalism that characterised the British Merchant Navy when I was a member of it. As a passenger I was even more impressed by Oriana’s public areas and appointments, with their sense of restrained class and luxury which only the British can accomplish. And as for the food … Wow! The whole experience impressed me to the extent that a DVD I made of the trip has been accepted for showing by Channel North Television – the travel agent also bought a copy! Our aim now is to save for another, similar experience. But this time we will hope to afford an oceanview cabin - our inside cabin, while still totally adequate, felt it could have done with a bit of sunshine!

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Oriana
  • Destination: World / Sector
  • Sailed: October 2010
Contributor image placeholder

Anonymous

Contributor

  • 0 Helpful votes
  • 0 Cruise reviews
  • 0 Cruises

Oriana

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    4
  • Entertainment

    5
  • Cabin

    4
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    4
Jun 2011

"Auckland to Wellington"

I did a short cruise on the Oriana (P&O UK). It was a wonderful little holiday break. The staff onboard were great!! As were all my fellow passengers, majority of which were retirees from England and a few Australians picked up in Sydney. The food was overall very good (if a little blandly English for my palate) and there were plenty of activities to do.. Who thought carpet bowling on a cruise ship could be such a hoot!! And watching 70 year old mean swing a sword an Wii Ninja was inspiring. Everything was very English with painted cricket scenes in the Lords Tavern!

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Oriana
  • Destination: Australia / New Zealand
  • Sailed: October 2010
Contributor image placeholder

Anonymous

Contributor

  • 0 Helpful votes
  • 0 Cruise reviews
  • 0 Cruises

Oriana

View deals
  • Overall

    5
  • Food

    5
  • Entertainment

    4
  • Cabin

    3
  • Crew

    5
  • Price

    4
  • Value

    5
Aug 2011

"A Cruise Aboard Oriana"

As a lighthouse keeper on Tiritiri in the 1960s I often watched the big passenger liners passing through the Whangaparaoa Passage between us and the mainland in the early morning on their way to Auckland. As an ex-seaman I had an interest in every ship that passed. But the big passenger ships were of special interest since I had never sailed in one. P&O’s Oriana for some reason always sparked a particularly special interest to the extent that I vowed that one day my wife and I would sail aboard her. Forty-odd years later, in October last year, we did just that – but it was aboard the new Oriana; the old one had gone to the breakers some years before. An advertisement for a flight from Auckland to San Francisco, several days in a hotel there and then Oriana all the way back to Auckland via Hawaii and Samoa, all for an inclusive price of a little over $3000 each, was impossible to resist! We enjoyed our whole time immensely. For my wife it was a unique experience, for me it was akin to going back to sea again but in circumstances undreamt of in my days as a seaman. Oriana was a truly beautiful ship. As with her predecessor, everything about her, including the flowing yet retrained lines of her design, bespoke the sense of unobtrusive professionalism that characterised the British Merchant Navy when I was a member of it. As a passenger I was even more impressed by Oriana’s public areas and appointments, with their sense of restrained class and luxury which only the British can accomplish. And as for the food … Wow! The whole experience impressed me to the extent that a DVD I made of the trip has been accepted for showing by Channel North Television – the travel agent also bought a copy! Our aim now is to save for another, similar experience. But this time we will hope to afford an oceanview cabin - our inside cabin, while still totally adequate, felt it could have done with a bit of sunshine!

Read more
  • Cruise Name: Oriana
  • Destination: World / Sector
  • Sailed: October 2010
Facebook Twitter Youtube
{"E_COMMERCE":[],"PROMO":[],"IS_TEST_ENV":false,"PAGE_READY":{"hitNationality":"us","siteCurrency":"AUD","siteEnv":"Production","siteLang":"en","sitePageType":"po-uk-cruises\/oriana\/reviews","siteProduct":"cruise","siteReferrer":"http:\/\/cruise.holidayswithkids.com.au","siteRelease":"NS","siteType":"responsive","userLoggedIn":0}}